State Building and Democratic Transformations

State Building and Democratic Transformations

Eka Tkeshelashvili

Minister of Justice of Georgia (2007) Attorney General (2008) Georgia’s Minister of Foreign Affairs (2008) Deputy Prime Minister (2010)


Course description & goal

The main theme of the course is the state building process. It provides an overview of various schools of thought on democracy and explores its nexus with state building process.  The main question underling the course is  on what makes democracies to deliver. Throughout the duration of the course students are encouraged to explore complexity of what constitutes state building process, what are internal as well as external drivers presence or absence of which define its overall success or failure, what is the nexus between institutional development of a state and its successful democratic transformation.

The main goal of the course is to enable students to comprehend mechanics of transformational processes, important nexus between state building, good governance and consolidation of democracy. The Course aims to develop leadership skills of students both at strategic as well as operational levels. It encourages them to understand the role of personal leadership in transformational processes, by showcasing how right choices at the right time can become game changers for the overall development of a given state.

Real case studies are being reviewed throughout the duration of the course. The main simulation exercise takes place at the end of the course. The group is divided into the teams which are entrusted with presentation of their vision on how to solve a complex problem provided in the case study. Simulation is encouraging students to work as a team and enables them to be exposed with the complex nature of problems in public governance.

While developing their concept for the solution of the problem they have to take into account issues related to the financial as well as human resource restrains, coordination among various state institutions, involvement in the process of internal as well as external stakeholders, to be well aware of political sensitivities and agendas of their superiors, as well as to integrate in their presentation their approach on strategic communication.

Course length and structure:

Course duration is one week and it is composed of three lectures. Each lecture is three hours long with one fifteen minutes break in-between. Course is mainly focused on interactive discussions, analysis of concrete case studies as well as one simulation exercise.

Instruction language:

Russian (reading materials in English), based on the level of English proficiency of the group preferred instruction language is English

Methodology:

Course is interactive, requiring critical thinking as well as comprehensive analysis of complex issues and processes related to state building and democratic transformations.

By the end of the course students will gain:

Understanding of complexity of state building process, the role of leadership and strategic vision during the process of democratic transformations;

Knowledge of major schools of thought about democracy, essential elements of state building processes, concepts of what constitutes good governance in a democratic society;

Ability to critically analyze key elements related to the solution of a given problem at a strategic as well as operational level, ability to define and to lead the process of delivering targeted result; ability to manage the teamwork.

Basic skills to formulate strategic concept as well as action plan aimed at the solution of the problem;

Self-confidence in being persuasive in communicating and lobbying for the implementation of their vision of the solution of a given problem.

Topics:

Lecture 1.Democracy and State Building
Lecture 2. Transitions, good governance – drivers of change
Lecture 3. Simulation Case

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!

Государственное управление и демократические трансформации

Государственное управление и демократические трансформации

Эка Ткешелашвили

Министр юстиции Грузии (2007 г.), Генеральный прокурор (2008 г.), Министр иностранных дел Грузии (2008 г.), Вице-премьер (2010 г.)


Описание курса и цели

Основная тема курса – процессы государственного управления. Он дает обзор различных школ мысли в сфере демократии и исследует ее связь с процессами государственного управления. Ключевой вопрос курса – методы донесения демократии обществу. На протяжении курса студентам рекомендуется исследовать комплекс составляющих процессов управления государством, какие существуют внутренние и внешние двигатели, наличие или отсутствие которых определяют его общий успех или неудачу, какая связь между институциональным развитием страны и ее успешной демократической трансформацией.

Главная цель курса – дать возможность студентам понять механизмы трансформационных процессов, важную связь между управлением государством, good governance и консолидацией демократии. Курс нацелен на развитие лидерских способностей студентов, как на стратегическом, так и на операционном уровнях. Он помогает им понять роль личностного лидерства в трансформационных процессах, через реальные примеры того, как правильный выбор в подходящее время может сильно изменить ход игры для всего развития определенной страны.

Реальные стади кейсы рассматриваются на протяжении всего курса. Главная симуляция проводится в конце курса. Группа разделяется на команды, которым необходимо сделать презентацию их видения того, как решить сложную проблему, предложенную стади кейсом. Симуляция помогает студентам работать командно и позволяет им столкнуться со сложной природой проблем государственного управления.

Развивая концепцию для решения поставленной проблемы, студенты должны принимать во внимание вопросы, касающиеся ограниченности финансовых и человеческих ресурсов, координацию между разными государственными институциями, вовлеченность в процесс внутренних и внешних заинтересованных лиц, понимать политические тонкости и графики чиновников, а также интегрировать в свои презентации свой подход к стратегической коммуникации.

Длительность и структура курса:

Курс длится одну неделю и состоит из трех лекций. Каждая лекция длится по 3 часа с 15-минутным перерывом. Курс в основном сфокусирован на интерактивные дискуссии, анализ конкретных стади кейсов и симуляцию.

Язык обучения:

Русский (материалы для чтения на английском); в зависимости от уровня языковых знаний группы, предпочтительным будет английский.

Методология:

Курс интерактивный, требующий критического мышления и всестороннего анализа комплекса вопросов и процессов, касающихся государственного управления и демократических трансформаций.

К концу курса студенты получат:

Понимание сложности процесса управления государством, роли лидерства и стратегического видения в процессу демократических трансформаций;

Знание основных школ мысли в области демократии, ключевые элементы процессов управления государством, понятий того, что составляет good governance в демократическом обществе;

Возможность критически анализировать ключевые элементы, касающиеся решения определенной проблемы на стратегическом и операционном уровнях, возможность определять и вести процессы донесения определенного результата; возможность управлять работой команды;

Базовые навыки формулирования стратегического концепта и плана действий, нацеленных на решение проблемы;

Уверенность в убеждении во время коммуникации и лоббирования, нацеленных на внедрение своего видения решения определенной проблемы.

Темы:

Lecture 1.Демократия и управление государством
Lecture 2. Переходы, good governance — двигатели изменений
Lecture 3. Симуляция

Модули

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!