Geopolitics

Geopolitics, National Security and Policy Planning

Jean – Loup Samaan

Lecturer in NATO Defense College (Rome, Italy); Policy Advisor at the French Ministry of Defense (2008-2011); Adjunct Lecturer in international security at the French Institute for Political Studies; Researcher at the RAND Corporation in Washington DC (2007-2008).


This course’s objective is to train the participants in strategic analysis by providing them tools to evaluate Ukraine’s international security environment. To this aim, each of the three sessions will combine a theoretical and historical introduction delivered by the teacher followed by a discussion of specific case studies.

The first session,  will cover “Geopolitics and net assessment”. It will offer the course members a survey of current world politics with a special emphasis on the Eurasian area. The teacher will explain how to execute a net assessment of political and military power (capabilities, intentions…). The discussion will then focus on the issue of evaluating Russian power in today’s world.

The second session,  will cover “National security strategies: a comparative analysis”. Following the previous lecture, we will see how specific countries adapt their national security strategies according to their threat assessment, their resources and their international alliances. The case studies introduced by the teacher will be France, India, United Arab Emirates and Estonia. In the discussion, these examples will enable participants to think about Ukraine’s own national security strategy.

The third and final session,  will look at “Forecasting and scenario-building”. The idea of this final session is to get the students accustomed to the practice of forecasting and scenario-building in the policy planning process and see the values of these for decisionmakers. The teacher will start by explaining the methodology of these exercises and it will then followed by two case studies: first the US National Intelligence Council’s Global Trends Report, and second a scenario of a NATO-Russia conflict (based on readings assigned to the students prior to the session.

Topics:

Lecture 1. Geopolitics and net assessment
Lecture 2. National security strategies: a comparative analysis
Lecture 3. Forecasting and scenario-building

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!

Геополитика

Геополитика, национальная безопасность и политическое планирование

Жан — Лу Самаан

Преподаватель Оборонного колледжа НАТО (Рим, Италия); Советник по вопросам политики в Министерстве обороны Франции (2008-2011); Адъюнкт-преподаватель в области международной безопасности во французском Институте политических исследований; Научный сотрудник корпорации RAND в Вашингтоне, округ Колумбия (2007-2008).


Целью данного модуля является подготовка участников в области стратегического анализа, предоставляя все необходимые инструменты для оценки международной обстановки Украины в области безопасности. С этой целью, каждая из трех лекций будет сочетать в себе теоретическое и историческое введение с последующим обсуждением конкретных примеров.


Первая лекция будет охватывать тему «Геополитика и ее общая оценка». Во время лекции участники сделают обзор современной мировой политики с особым акцентом на евразийское пространство. Лектор объяснит, как сделать правильную оценку политической и военной власти (возможности, намерения и др.). В ходе обсуждения будут рассмотрены вопросы оценки российской власти в современном мире.


Вторая лекция будет охватывать тему «Стратегии национальной безопасности: сравнительный анализ». После предыдущей лекции, участники увидят, каким образом конкретные страны адаптировали свои стратегии национальной безопасности в соответствии с потенциальными угрозами, ресурсами и международным партнерством. Во время лекции будут рассматриваться практические кейсы Франции, Индии, ОАЭ и Эстонии. В ходе обсуждения, эти примеры позволят участникам разработать собственную стратегию национальной безопасности Украины.


Третья заключительная лекция будет охватывать тему «Прогнозирование и построение сценария». Идея последней лекции заключается в том, чтобы обучить участников прогнозированию и построению сценария в политическом процессе планирования и видению значения этих параметров для лиц, принимающих решения. Лекция начнется с обьяснения  методологии этих упражнений, а затем следуют два тематических case studies: первый -Глобальные тенденции Национального совета США по разведке, а второй — сценарий конфликта между НАТО и РФ (на основании рекомендательной литературы).

Темы:

Лекция 1: Геополитика и ее общая оценка
Лекция 2: Стратегии национальной безопасности: сравнительный анализ
Лекция 3: Прогнозирование и построение сценария

Модули

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!