Information as a Tool of Statecraft

Information as a Tool of Statecraft

Howard Gambrill Clark

Assistant Professor of Countering Violent Extremism and Counterterrorism, UAE National Defense College, UAE General Headquarters


Сourse Description & Goals:

Information is a central instrument of national power.

Information can be used as a grand strategy, continuous supporting action for other strategies, or a central effort for other strategies.  Some scholars and strategists maintain that power may include the 1) potential effects of mobilized hard power and 2) ability to master the information realm and influence—sometimes considered métis, zhi, virtù, guile, or narrative savvy.

Although the character of war may very well be different than past eras with new information platforms, many scholars maintain that the nature remains unchanged.  And at the heart of wartime and peacetime strategy is information.  As Sun Tzu stated, “War is deception.  Best of all is to vanquish a foreign army without a fight.”  As Kautilya imagined, “The arrow shot by an archer may or may not kill a single man; but skillful intrigue devised by wise men can kill even those who are in the womb.”  As scholars of Genghis Khan analyze, “Winning by clever deception or cruel trickery was still winning and carried no stain on the bravery of the warriors…Increasingly, paper was the most potent weapon in Genghis Khan’s arsenal.”  And as contemporary scholar Lawrence Freedman states, “…the realm of strategy is one of bargaining and persuasion as well as threats and pressure, psychological as well as physical effects, and words as well as deeds…[Odysseus, Sun Tzu, Liddell Hart, Jomini] would seek victory at a reasonable cost by means of deceits, ruses, feints, maneuvers, speed, and a quicker wit.”

At the heart of any information strategy is strategic narrative.

Narrative has multiple differing definitions.  Very often analysts and strategists consider four themes: 1) a story or set of stories, 2) an expression of identity, 3) storytelling that holds meaning for a people especially in a time of crisis, 4) and storytelling that has a purpose normally to persuade.

Narratives reflect the identity of a community, nation, and people.  So if communities are unique, then so are their narratives’ substance, style, and means of transmission.  Each narrative is grounded in history, expressing a group’s identity, accomplishments, challenges, ambitions, and desires.  And through such narratives, communities can recognize their identity amidst outsiders and neighboring communities.  During developing events—such as regional warfare, foreign incursion, and environmental disasters for example—narratives allow a community to gauge meaning and understanding.  Narratives emerge without necessarily conscious design as communities continue to develop and preserve identity, sometimes inoculating societies from outside perhaps negative ideas and ideologies.

Narratives comprise deep-seated ideologies, belief systems, history, and language.  Through trust, recognized monuments and temples, visual motifs, and repetition will master narratives naturally travel and strengthen. Instead of relying on theory, this lesson will immediately immerse participants in what is arguably the contemporary world’s most successful narrative and messaging strategy: those of contemporary violent extremist groups.  Lessons learned from perhaps one of the most effective and resilient grand-narrative-grounded organization today may inform our ability to communicate a national narrative that will then build immunity from threats and challenges to include Iranian influence and (ironically) violent extremism.

Also important, is the idea of strategic influence, which includes the coordinated, integrated, and synchronized application of national diplomatic, informational, military, economic, and other capabilities in peacetime, crisis, conflict, and post-conflict to foster attitudes, behaviors, or decisions by foreign target audiences that further [state] interests and objectives (RAND, 2009).

More holistically, strategic communications may refer to the transmission and/or reception of words and/or actions in pursuit of strategic objectives.  Strategic communication is the alignment of multiple lines of operation (e.g., policy implementation, public affairs, force movement, information operations, etc.) that together generate effects to support national objectives. Strategic communication essentially means sharing meaning (communicating) in support of national objectives (strategically). This involves listening as much as transmitting, and applies not only to information, but also to physical communication – action that conveys meaning (US SC JOC, 2009).

Strategic communications may include the following pillars: information operations, psychological operations (a part of information operations), public diplomacy, and public affairs (Paul Cornish, Julian Lindley-French, Claire Yorke, “Strategic Communications and National Strategy,” Chatham House Report, 2011).  Elements across these disciplines may include:

  • Inform, influence (attitudes and/or behavior), and/or persuade audiences at home and/or abroad.
  • Manage information coordination across government(s) or organization(s).
  • Ensure that actions are themselves communicable.
  • Ensure target audiences receive, understand, and/or are moved by communications.

And finally, information operations focuses on the integration of numerous capabilities and aligning them with other lines of operation to influence, disrupt, corrupt, or usurp the ability of enemy decisions, strategies, and operations.  Information operations also protect friendly information and friendly forces.  Information operations’ core capabilities may include electronic warfare, computer network operations, psychological operations, military deception, operations security, public affairs, and combat camera.

This course will focus on 1) information as a central effort of national power, to include the above features; 2) crafting a strategic narrative; and 3) information in full-spectrum operations, specifically stabilization.

Goals include:

  • Understand strategic narrative and its centrality to governance.
  • Evaluate effective and ineffective grand strategic narratives.
  • Apply lessons learned towards developing a recommended resilient and impactful national master narrative.
  • Assess the role that messaging can play in the implementation of strategy.
  • Analyze key elements of successful and unsuccessful messaging.
  • Apply analyses of failed information campaigns to inform successful grand strategies for the future.

Methodology:

Three continuously interactive, andragogic, Socratic, and innovative teaching sessions along with three group exercises to reinforce creative learning—given over the course of five days.

Course Structure:

  • Three interactive “lectures.”
  • Three group exercises.
  • Five sets of short readings, to include the lecturers’ primers on information, intelligence, and narrative.  To be sent before the end of November (reflecting the most up-to-date events for Ukraine).

Course Language:

English

Topics:

Lecture 1. Information as a Central Instrument of National Power
Lecture 2. HCrafting a Strategic Narrative
Lecture 3. Information and Strategic Stabilization
Lecture 4. Narrative Workshop and Introduction to Stabilization Exercise
Lecture 5. Narrative National Information Strategy—Address the Nation

Short Q&A session

Howard Gambrill Clark about his CAPS course "American Foreign Policy and Political Ambitions"


What will be the focus of your course?

  • The course will focus on information as a central effort of national power, crafting a strategic narrative and information in full-spectrum operations, specifically stabilization.

What is the strategic narrative and why it is so important?

  • Narratives reflect the identity of a community, nation, and people, comprise deep-seated ideologies, belief systems, history, and language. We learn the importance through investigation of the contemporary world’s most successful narrative and messaging strategy: those of contemporary violent extremist groups.

Any implication to Ukraine?

  • Participants will craft a national information strategy, as well as will be engaged in other simulations and group exercises. 

Please name the most important concepts participants would learn and apply? 

  • In general, but not limited to, Information, narrative, intelligence, and influence.

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!

Информация — инструмент управления государством

Информация — инструмент управления государством

Говард Гамбрилл Кларк

Доцент по противодействию насильственному экстремизму и борьбе с терроризмом, Национальный колледж обороны ОАЭ, Генеральный штаб ОАЭ


Описание и цели:

Информация является главным инструментом национальной мощи.
Информация может быть использована в качестве большой стратегии, непрерывной поддержки действий для других стратегий, или же в роле главных усилий для достижения других стратегий. Некоторые ученые и стратеги утверждают, что власть может включать в себя 1) потенциальные последствия мобилизованы “жесткой” силы и 2) умение владеть информационным полем и влиянием.

Хотя характер войны вполне может отличаться от прошлых эпох с новыми информационными платформами, многие ученые утверждают, что природа остается неизменной. И в основе стратегии военного и мирного времени лежит информация. Как заявил Сунь-цзы, «Война — обман. Лучше всего победить иностранную армию без боя «, как это представлял Каутилья, «Стрела лучника может попасть или не попасть в человека. но искусная интрига придумана мудрецами может убить даже тех, кто находится в утробе матери.» Исследователи Чингисхана проанализировали, «Победа умным обманом никогда не наносила пятно на храбрость воинов … Бумага была самым мощным оружием в арсенале Чингисхана». и, как утверждает современный ученый Лоуренс Фридман,« … сфера стратегии является сферой переговоров и убеждения, а также угроз и давления, со психологическими, а также физическими эффектами, сферою где слова и дела важны слова, … [Одиссей, Сунь-цзы, Лиддел Харт, Жомини] будет добиваться победы по разумной цене с помощью обманов, уловок, финты, маневры, скорость и более быстрый ум «.

В основе любой информационной стратегии лежит стратегический рассказ.
Рассказ имеет несколько отличающихся характеристик. Очень часто аналитики и стратеги выделяют четыре: 1) рассказ или набор историй, 2) выражение идентичности, 3) рассказывание историй, которые имеют значение для людей, особенно в период кризиса, 4) целью сюжетной линии, как правило, есть убеждение.

Рассказы отражают идентичность общины, нации и народа. Так что, если общины являются уникальными, то и рассказы будут такими. Каждый рассказ основывается на истории, выражая группы идентичности, достижения, проблемы, амбиции и желания. И с помощью таких рассказов, общины могут признать свою идентичность среди аутсайдеров и соседних общин. В ходе развития событий, таких как региональные войны, иностранные вторжения, экологические катастрофы помогают -нарративов позволяют сообществу создать рассказы, их смысл и обеспечить понимание. Рассказы возникают без сознательного дизайна, так как общины продолжают развивать и сохранять идентичность.

Рассказы включают укоренившиеся идеологии, системы верований, историю и язык. Через доверие, памятники и храмы, визуальные мотивы, и повторение рассказы осваиваются и закрепляются. Вместо того, чтобы полагаться на теории, этот курс погрузит участников в то, что, возможно, есть примером самых успешных рассказов: стратегии современных насильственных экстремистских группировок. Уроки, извлеченные из пожалуй, одной из наиболее эффективных организаций сегодня могут сформировать нашу способность создавать национальный рассказ, который построит иммунитет от угроз и вызовов, а также даст возможность противостоять иранскому влиянию и насильственному экстремизму.

Также важной есть идея стратегического влияния, которая включает в себя скоординированное, интегрированное и синхронизированное применение национальной дипломатической, информационной, военной, экономической и других возможностей в мирное время, во времена кризиса, конфликта, и пост-конфликта для стимулирования отношений, поведения, или решения зарубежных целевых аудиторий, что дальнейшие [государственные] интересы и цели (RAND, 2009).

Более целостно, стратегические коммуникации могут относиться к передаче и / или приеме слов и / или действий в достижении стратегических целей. Стратегическая коммуникация совмещает несколько операций (например, осуществления политики, общественные дела, движение силы, информационные операции и т.д.), которые в совокупности генерируют поддержку национальных целей. Стратегическая коммуникация по существу означает обмен смыслом (сообщение) в поддержку национальных целей (стратегия). Это включает в себя процес получения и передачи, и относится не только к информации, но и к физической связи — действие, которое передает значение (США SC JOC, 2009).

Стратегические коммуникации могут включать в себя следующие направления: информационные операции, психологические операции (часть информационных операций), публичной дипломатии и связям с общественностью (Paul Cornish, Джулиан Линдли-французские, Клэр Йорк, «Стратегические коммуникации и национальная стратегия» Chatham House Report , 2011). Элементы через эти дисциплины могут включать в себя:

Информирование, влияние (отношение и/или поведение), и/или убеждение аудитории дома и/или за рубежом.
Управление информацией о координации между правительством (ами) или организацией (ями).
Убеждение в том, что действия сами по себе являются коммуникационными.
Обеспечение целевой аудитории получать, понимать и / или перемещаются по связи.
И, наконец, информационные операции фокусируются на интеграции многочисленных возможностей и согласования их с другими линиями работы к воздействию, нарушить, испорчена, или узурпировать способность противника решений, стратегий и операций. Информационные операции также защитить дружественную информацию и дружественные силы. Основные возможности информационных операций »может включать в себя электронную войну, компьютерные сетевые операции, психологические операции, маскировка, безопасность операций, государственных дел, и борьбы с камерой.

Этот курс будет сосредоточено на:

  1. Информации в качестве центрального инструмента национальной власти, чтобы включить вышеуказанные функции;
  2. Разработке стратегического рассказа;
  3. Информацию в операциях полного спектра, в частности, стабилизации.

Цели:

  • Понять стратегические рассказы и их необходимость для управления.
  • Оценить эффективные и неэффективные грандиозные стратегические рассказы.
  • Применить полученные знания к разработке национального рассказа
  • Оценить роль, которую может играть обмен сообщениями в реализации стратегии.
  • Анализ ключевых элементов успешной и неудачной передачи сообщений.
  • Применить анализ неудачных информационных кампаний для информирования успешных грандиозных стратегий для будущего.

Методология:

Три непрерывно интерактивные занятия. Сократические и инновационные учебные занятия вместе с тремя групповыми упражнениями для укрепления творческого обучения — в течение пяти дней.

Структура курса:

Три интерактивных «лекции».
Три групповые упражнения.
Пять комплектов коротких чтений, чтобы включить праймеры лекторов по информации, интеллекта и повествования. Для того, чтобы быть отправлены до конца ноября (отражая большинство событий уточненный для Украины).

Язык курса:

Английский

Темы:

Лекция 1. Информация как центральный инструмент национальной мощи
Лекция 2. Создание стратегического рассказа
Лекция 3. Информация и стратегическая стабилизация
Лекция 4. Мастерская стратегического рассказа и введение в Стабилизационные упражнения
Лекция 5. Национальный информационный стратегический рассказ — представление рассказа нации

Модули

Short Q&A session

Erik Brattberg about his CAPS course "American Foreign Policy and Political Ambitions"


What will be the focus of your course?

  • The course will focus on information as a central effort of national power, crafting a strategic narrative and information in full-spectrum operations, specifically stabilization.

What is the strategic narrative and why it is so important?

  • Narratives reflect the identity of a community, nation, and people, comprise deep-seated ideologies, belief systems, history, and language. We learn the importance through investigation of the contemporary world’s most successful narrative and messaging strategy: those of contemporary violent extremist groups.

Any implication to Ukraine?

  • Participants will craft a national information strategy, as well as will be engaged in other simulations and group exercises. 

Please name the most important concepts participants would learn and apply? 

  • In general, but not limited to, Information, narrative, intelligence, and influence.

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!