Lobbyism – what makes it work

Lobbyism – what makes it work

Eka Tkeshelashvili

Minister of Justice of Georgia (2007) Attorney General (2008) Georgia’s Minister of Foreign Affairs (2008) Deputy Prime Minister (2010)


Lobbyism and Advocacy are actively used by states, business entities, various interest groups as well as civil society organizations for the advancement of their cause. The course provides theoretical background and room for discussion on different concepts of lobbying and established frameworks mainly in the US and Europe. However, the main focus will lie on practical situations and examples, as well as skills training.


Participants will get full and complete knowledge of lobbyism and advocacy, get understanding of different lobbying systems, try skills in simulation case studies as lobbyists.

Expected result

At the end of the course, participants should be in the position to comprehend the complexity of the lobbying and advocacy filed, challenges involved in the different sectors and contexts, as well as critical debates on transparency and legitimacy. Special attention will be devoted in outlining specific aspects related to lobbyism and advocacy on behalf of sovereign states in bilateral as well as multilateral settings.

By the end of the Course students will get to know and practice different concepts, strategic tools and approaches, including actor and process mapping, coalition building, presenting information, dealing with the media, getting into practical do’s and don’ts related to lobbying and advocacy, including ability to shape and lead result oriented advocacy campaigns.


Course is composed of 4 interactive sessions. Each session is three hours long with fifteen minutes break in-between. Real case studies are being reviewed throughout the duration of the course. The main simulation exercise takes place at the end of the course.

Lecture 1: Lobbyism and Advocacy: origin, legal framework and established practice in the US and Europe
Lecture 2:  Strategies that deliver: what it takes to lead successful lobbying campaign
Lecture 3: The role of Lobbyism and Advocacy in foreign policy related matters
Lecture 4: Case Study.

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!

Лоббизм и GR

Лоббизм и GR

Эка Ткешелашвили

Министр юстиции Грузии (2007 г.), Генеральный прокурор (2008 г.), Министр иностранных дел Грузии (2008 г.), Вице-премьер (2010 г.)


Описание

Лоббизм и адвокация активно используются государствами, бизнесом, различными группами влияния, а также гражданскими организациями для продвижения своих дел. Курс обеспечивает теоретическую подготовку и площадку для обсуждения различных концепций лоббизма и устоявшихся концепций, который применяются главным образом в США и Европе. Основное внимание будет уделено практическим ситуациям и примерам, а также обучение навыкам лоббизма и адвокации.

Цель

Участники получат полное и глубокое знание о лоббизме и адвокации, получат понимание функционирования различных лоббистских систем, и попрактиковать навыки лоббирования во время практических кейсов.

Ожидаемый результат

В конце модуля участники будут в состоянии понять сложность лоббизма и адвокации, понимать проблемы, связанные с лоббизмом в различных секторах и разными контекстами, а также принимать участие в критических дискуссиях о прозрачности и законности. Особое внимание будет уделено подчеркиванию конкретных аспектов, связанных с лоббизмом и адвокацией от имени суверенных государств как в двустороннем, так и многостороннем форматах.

К концу модуля участники будут иметь возможность попрактиковать различные концепции, стратегические инструменты и подходы, включая разработку действующих лиц и процессов, создания коалиций, представления информации, работа со СМИ, что можно и что нельзя делать в лоббизме и адвокации, в том числе формировать и вести ориентированную на результат адвокацию.

Структура лекций

Продолжительность модуля составляет 4 дня. Каждая сессия длится три часа, с 15-ти минутным перерывом. Реальные практические кейсы рассматриваются на протяжении всего модуля. Основной кейс происходит в конце курса.

Тема 1: Лоббизм и адвокация: происхождение, правовая основа и установившаяся практика в США и Европе
Тема 2: Стратегии и практика: что требуется, чтобы привести успешную лоббистскую кампанию
Тема 3: Роль лоббизма и адвокации в вопросах внешней политики
Тема 4: Case study

Модули

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!