State Building and Economic Reforms

State Building and Economic Reforms

Irakli Matkava

Project Leader, Senior Advisor. Tony Blair Associates (Business Areas: Government Consulting) First Deputy Minister, Deputy Minister, Head of Department. Ministry of Economy and Sustainable Development of Georgia (Business Areas: Government), 2009 – 2013


Сourse Description & Goals:

‘Reforms’ are the staple of everyday talk. They are proposed, discussed, praised, protested and… very rarely delivered. Meantime, exactly that – an ability to get things done, defines the difference between a good government and a poor one. All governments are busy; very few have something to show for all that effort. In a nutshell, a reform is a change.

A reform in a domain of public policy is a change that has to have a positive tangible impact on the citizens of that given polity. As simple as it may sound, delivering such a change is a serious challenge, for many an insurmountable one. Understanding this challenge (the reasons behind these failures, the ways of avoiding them) is fundamental to having the key characteristic of a good government – getting things done. By this token, in this course we focus on ‘how’, rather then ‘what’.
We will look at a number of real life cases of reform success and failure as well as the tools and methods applied in an attempt to drive change forward. A special tool that builds a systematic view of the reform delivery process will be used as an element integrating various aspects of the course (in class) and hands-on guide to actual delivery (in real world).

Methodology:

Course  is interactive. It requires open mind and willingness to learn from and work with the fellow students. Critical thinking and analytical skills will also come handy as the course deals with complicated and complex issues of running a country well.

Course Structure:

Course  duration is one week and it is composed of five interactive sessions. Each session is three hours long with one fifteen minutes break in-between.

Course Language:

Russian (some course materials will be provided in English)

Topics:

Lecture 1: Reforms: establishing basics
Lecture 2: Why reforms fail: politics and leaders
Lecture 3: Why reforms fail: reform design
Lecture 4: Why reforms fail: process
Lecture 5: Integrative case-study

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!

Построение государства и экономические реформы

Построение государства и экономические реформы

Иракли Маткава

Проектный лидер, старший советник «Tony Blair Associates» (Государственный консалтинг) Первый заместитель министра, заместитель министра Министерства экономики и устойчивого развития Грузии (2009 – 2013)


Описание:

«Реформы» являются одним из основных поводов для повседневного разговора. Они предлагаются, обсуждаются, восхваляются, опровергаются и … очень редко реализовываются. Тем временем, именно умение добиться цели определяет разницу между хорошим правительством и плохим. Все правительства заняты, но очень немногие из них готовы показать результаты всех этих усилий.

Если коротко, реформа является изменение.
Реформа в области государственной политики является изменением, которое должно оказать положительное и ощутимое воздействие на граждан этой страны. Как бы это просто не звучало, реализация такого изменения является серьезным вызовом, для многих — даже непреодолимым. Понимание этого вызова (причины неудач, способы избежания этих неудач) имеет фундаментальное значение для хорошего правительства, которое хочет добиться цели. Во время этого модуля мы ориентируемся на «как?», а не на «что?».
Будет рассмотрено ряд реальных случаев, когда реформы были успешно имплементированы и когда их реализация увенчалась неудачами, а также инструменты и методы, применяемые в попытке изменений. Специальный инструмент, который строит систематическое представление о процессе реализации реформ будет использоваться в качестве элемента, интегрирующего различные аспекты модуля (в классе) и практическое руководство по фактической реализации (в реальном мире).

Методология:

Модуль является полностью интерактивным. Главное – это непредубежденность и готовность учиться и работать с другими участниками. Вам также пригодиться критическое мышление и аналитические навыки, так как во время модуля будут рассматриваться сложные и неоднозначные вопросы управления страной.

Структура:

Продолжительность модуля — одна неделя, которая состоит из пяти интерактивных лекций. Каждая лекция длится три часа с перерывом в пятнадцать минут.

Язык лекций:

Русский (некоторые учебные материалы будут предоставлены на английском языке)

Темы:

Лекция 1: Реформы: введение
Лекция 2: Почему реформы терпят неудачу: политика и лидеры
Лекция 3: Почему реформы терпят неудачу: дизайн реформ
Лекция 4: Почему реформы терпят неудачу: процесс
Лекция 5: Case-study

Модули

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!