National Security Strategies

National Security Strategies

Giorgi Muchaidze

Executive Director of the Atlantic Council of Georgia (promoting Georgia’s integration into NATO) in 2011, Deputy Minister of Defence of Georgia from 2007 to 2009., Head of Department of International Relations and NATO integration of the Georgian Ministry of Defense (2006 – 2007), Senior Advisor to the Georgian Ministry of Foreign Affairs (1997 – 2005)


Batu Kutelia

Deputy Minister of Defense of Georgia (2006-2008), Georgian Ambassador to the United States (2009-2011), Honored teacher of the Institute of McCain


Description:

The course will help to understand the issues of construction of the agenda of the day of the state in matters of national security. He explains the concept of “reasonable force» (smartpower) and its practical application, including the situation with a hybrid war. Specially designed simulation included in the course will help students to better understand the advantages of different strategies chosen to address national security concerns. On the last day of the course, students will be able to apply and try out the knowledge gained to listen to a lecture, through the simulation of the meeting of the Government of Ukraine to develop a policy strategy of national security of Ukraine.

Goal:

To provide an understanding of the anatomy of international security and its multi-vector nature. He pushes and develops answers to the four most fundamental security questions: What is security? Whose security? What can be considered a security issue? How to achieve security? Students will be presented with the main model theoretically in the field of security research and actual case studies that show how these theories are used in real life.

Structure:

The course lasts one week and is divided into 3 lectures. Each lecture lasts 3 hours 15-minute break. The course includes presentations, interactive discussions, case studies and simulations.

Expected Result:

The acquisition of critical thinking skills and the ability to critically analyze the challenges to national security and to choose the strategy for addressing security challenges effectively. Basic skills of formulating security policies on specific issues of national security and to build a consensus around a negotiation and compromise. Confidence in the discharge of their civic responsibility by engaging in discussions on national security in the public policy level.

Topics:

Lecture 1. The theoretical model of national security
Lecture 2. SmartPower (smart power) – in the search for a balance between hard and soft power
Lecture 3. Simulation strategic meeting of the Government of Ukraine to develop a policy of national security strategy of Ukraine

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!

Стратегии национальной безопасности

Стратегии национальной безопасности

Гиорги Мучаидзе

Исполнительный директор Атлантического совета Грузии (содействие интеграции Грузии в НАТО) с 2011, Заместитель министра обороны Грузии с 2007 по 2009 гг., Глава Департамента международных отношений и интеграции в НАТО Министерства обороны Грузии (2006 — 2007 гг.), Старший советник Министерства иностранных дел Грузии (1997 — 2005 гг)


Бату Кутелия

Замминистра обороны Грузии (2006-2008 гг.), Посол Грузии в США (2009-2011 гг.), Заслуженный преподаватель Института Маккейна


Описание:

Программа курса нацелена обеспечить общее понимание анатомии международной безопасности и ее многомерной природы. Дает возможность разобраться в построении повестки дня государства в вопросах национальной безопасности. Объясняет понятие «разумной силы» (smartpower) и её практическое применение, включая и ситуацию с гибридной войной. Специально разработанная симуляция, включенная в курс, поможет студентам лучше понять преимущества разных стратегий, выбранных для решения проблем национальной безопасности. В последний день курса студенты будут иметь возможность применить и испробовать знания, приобретенные на прослушанных лекциях, через симуляцию заседания Правительства Украины для разработки политики стратегии национальной безопасности Украины.

Цель:

Целью курса является получение ответа на четыре наиболее фундаментальных вопроса по безопасности: Что такое безопасность? Чья безопасность? Что можно считать вопросом безопасности? Как достичь безопасности? Студентам будут представлены основные теоритические модели в области исследований безопасности и реальные кейсы, которые покажут, как эти теории используются в реальной жизни.

Ожидаемый результат:

Приобретение навыков критического мышления и возможность критически анализировать вызовы национальной безопасности и эффективно выбирать стратегии решения проблем с безопасностью. Базовые навыки формулирования политики безопасности по специфическим вопросам национальной безопасности и строить консенсус вокруг переговоров и компромисса. Уверенность в разгрузке своей гражданской ответственности через привлечение в обсуждение вопросов национальной безопасности на уровне разработки общественной политики.

Структура курса :

Курс длится одну неделю и разделен на 3 лекции. Каждая лекция длится 3 часа с 15-минутным перерывом. Курс включает презентации, интерактивные дискуссии, кейс стади и симуляцию.

Темы:
Лекция 1. Теоретические модели национальной безопасности
Лекция 2. SmartPower (Умная сила) — в поисках баланса между жесткой и мягкой силы
Лекция 3. Симуляция стратегического заседания Правительства Украины для разработки политики стратегии национальной безопасности Украины

МОДУЛИ

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!